The Mc10:35, San Francisco’s Latest Cult-Status Secret Menu Item from McDonald’s

09Mar10

Thanks to consumer shoppers’ best friend The Consumerist, the cat has been let out of the bag regarding the Mc10:35, a secret menu item from McDonald’s that has been receiving a sort of cult following in San Francisco. A reader sent in a tip to The Consumerist, saying he heard about it from a cashier at one of the local McDonald’s. So, what exactly is a Mc10:35 and how to do you order one? The tipster writes:

1. Go to McD’s right when they are transitioning from breakfast to lunch.

2. Order one of the remaining Egg McMuffins from the breakfast menu and also order a McDouble since the lunch menu is now open.

3. Take the egg and Canadian bacon from the Egg McMuffin and put it on the McDouble.

The guy at the register said people call it a Mc10:35 because that’s pretty much the only time you can pull this off.

After reading this article I had to try it. Everyone already knows what a McGangBang is (a McChicken inside a McDouble, for those who don’t), but the allure of trying a new McSecret really drew me in. Or out of the house, I should say. Follow me as I chronicle my McMission from morning hunger to morning inebriation and satisfaction:

10:15am – I walked down the street to my neighborhood McDonald’s. I hate/love that there is one a couple blocks from my apartment in Ingleside.

10:25am – The menu rolls over (literally) from breakfast to lunch, I’m worried I may have been too late. I walk up to the counter and ask the guy if he knows what a Mc10:35 is. He doesn’t. I ask him if I could order an Egg McMuffin and a McDouble, and explain to him what I am going to do. He looks confused and tells me they are not serving breakfast anymore. I tell him it’s only 10:25 and the guy before me just ordered breakfast. He obliges and rings up the Egg McMuffin and McDouble. I smile.

10:35amI send a Tweet saying I’m ordering a Mc10:35 at 10:35am. I had to lie, ordering a Mc10:35 at 10:25am just doesn’t sound as sexy, so I hope you will forgive me.

10:47am – I unwrap the Egg McMuffin and McDouble and slightly gag at the sight. I tell myself, “You have to do this, and it will be good!” I put together my Mc10:35 with more amusement than anyone who is building a secret McDonald’s burger should ever have, and take a deep breath.

10:48am – The first bite. Whoa. You’ve got greasy low-grade beef, melted American cheese, Canadian bacon, egg, ketchup, onions, and pickles, and it works. The best part about the whole Frankenstein burger is the egg, it adds a nice texture and neutral flavor to the beef, ham, and cheese, bringing them together in one harmonious artery-clogging bite. The pickles, often understated and underappreciated, add a nice bit of tartness to round it out. My first thought was, “This would be so good if I was drunk. Too bad I can’t order it at 2:30am after a night of drinking!” As if often the case when I start letting my imagination run, I came up with a trademark GENEius idea- get drunk right now.

10:54am – I went straight to the freezer where I knew I would find an almost-finished 1.75L bottle of  Bombay Sapphire gin, with 5 shots left, to be exact. I poured 5 shots out and went to work.

10:59am – Not drunk yet. I turned on some music and did a little fist-pumping to get the blood flowing.

11:14am – After 15 minutes of raucous fist-pumping I started to feel drunk.

11:25am – Dee-runk ci-tay. I took the rest of my Mc10:35 that I have been staring at for way too long, and absolutely demolished it in seconds. I wanted to run back to McDonald’s and demand another!

The fact that you only have a very tiny window of opportunity to order it makes it that much more exclusive and enjoyable. I would say the Mc10:35 is better than the McGangBang, which is rather bland and dry. The egg really does add another level to what would be a run-of-the-mill fast food burger, and it just looks more appealing than the McGangBang.

The next time I am drunk and hungry around 10:25am, I know where I’m going- Tartine Bakery for a morning bun and coffee.

-Gene

Check out these other popular articles:
Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap
Painted Bird: A thrift and vintage clothing shop in the Mission
7×7 Magazine’s Big Eat SF: 2010 vs 2009
Shin Toe Bul Yi – Home-style Korean Food in Parkside
The Legend of the Bacon Hot Dog Cart
Street Food Redefined – The Creme Brulee Cart
New School Food Peddler – The Magic Curry Kart
Cha Cha Cha Tapas Restaurant and Bar in the Haight and Mission
Brenda’s French Soul Food Review; Best Southern Brunch in San Francisco
The Official Hoodscope List of Free San Francisco Museum Days
The Definitive Guide to Enjoying Oysters on the Cheap in San Francisco
The Ultimate SoMa Happy Hour Gameplan
How do you know you’re a San Francisco Hipster?



5 Responses to “The Mc10:35, San Francisco’s Latest Cult-Status Secret Menu Item from McDonald’s”

  1. 1 Jacob A.

    Me: “Hi, can I get a MC10:35?”

    McDonald: “Sorry no haf breakfast affer 11.”

    Me: “But its 10:30..”

  2. 2 Rom

    being drunk makes all food taste 10x better. Thanks for giving me some good reading material while im here bored as shit at work. haha yet again another genius post by mr. hoodscope himself, bravo!

  3. 3 Rom

    actually if i didn’t have work today, id probably partake in the mc10:35 festivities haha

  4. 4 Gene

    Rom- Next time you’re off work during the week, Mc10:35’s and booze, on me!


  1. 1 10 amazing fast food and takeaway hacks you need to try | Food | Student Hacks

Leave a comment