Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap

11Aug09

It’s no secret that San Franciscans love their city. This was more than evident when I arrived at Bloodhound, which feels like a cross between a hunting lodge and chic lounge, for a viewing party for famed author & traveler Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco. In countless bars around the country you’ll find people gathering over beers and buffalo wings watching “the big game,” but only in San Francisco will you find a bar full of people anxiously and excitedly watching the newest episode of a Travel Channel show.

Scattered amongst the crowd was a collective of local media, chefs, cooks, famous bloggers (hello), and many others, a Who’s Who of people who would care about watching this episode of No Reservations in San Francisco.

After a bit of socializing and cocktailing, the episode began and all eyes immediately turned to the TVs, curious to see what Bourdain thinks of our fair city. For many of the chefs and people featured on the show, it was an anxious experience knowing that Bourdain could single-handedly thrust them into a new tier, for better or worse.

He visited many well-known and highly respected restaurants and eateries, and a couple not-so-well known, to me at least. A few segments really stood out to me:

Pirate Cat Radio Café – A cafe that broadcasts free radio without a license from the FCC, they serve vegan treats and a Maple Bacon Latte, which is what Bourdain tried. It’s a double espresso latte made with maple syrup and bacon, which he enjoyed. I’m also glad we share the same viewpoint as he says, “I’m famously unenthusiastic, shall we say, about vegans.” Aren’t we all?

Tadich Grill – He met with Oscar, who joins him at other stops during his tour of the city. Oscar, whom I’d met at the viewing party and is a really nice guy, had this beautiful metaphor for San Francisco:

The thing about San Francisco, it’s like a beautiful, mysterious woman. Will you ever possess her? No. But, keep company with her. There’s more than enough because you realize there are layers that you’re still not gonna get to. You think you’ve figured everything out, you haven’t.

Bourdain with Oscar in Tadich Grill

House of Prime Rib – I immediately questioned his decision to go there, with so many other great places to get juicy slabs of meat and classic cocktails. Then I realized that it didn’t matter where he went, it wasn’t just about the food (which he thought was great and I agree). House of Prime Rib is a classic institution that is very San Francisco in its own right, hearkening back to the old days of San Francisco before vegans and organic free range locally grown cruelty free everything took center stage. Plus, the salad, bread, creamed spinach, and prime rib are ridiculously good. Bourdain summed it up when he said over his prime rib and martini, “This is the American Dream right here.”

R & G Lounge – I was really curious about where he would go in Chinatown, and I was surprised and excited when I saw R & G Lounge. I used to frequent this place A LOT when I worked in the Financial District. Don’t let its fancy looks fool you, it’s not P.F. Changs, this is a legit Chinese restaurant that serves up great food, especially the dungeness crab that was featured.

That’s It Market – I’ll admit, I didn’t know about this place and am slightly embarrassed since I claim the Mission to be one of my favorite neighborhoods, especially to eat! He described the Mission as “a traditionally welcoming place for the displaced and disenfranchised.” That’s It Market is a liquor store that houses a countertop and grill, where they make The Cuban, an insane 7 lb (wtf!?) torta stuffed with everything. I definitely have to go check this place out, eating inside a liquor store sounds like too much fun, even though Oscar says, “There isn’t enough Lipitor in the world.” The best part was when Bourdain and Oscar went to the beer fridge and grabbed a Tecate and Modelo, at least they kept it real!

Red’s Java House – One of my favorite in places in town to grab a burger when I get the urge (the other being Darla’s in the Inner Sunset), I was thrilled to see Red’s Java House get some love. It’s a no-frills place where you can grab a good burger, chili cheese fries, and a beer without worrying about the “locavores” (those who prefer to eat locally grown/produced food) clamoring for justice. He calls it a “wonderful, old school, high fat, high protein, beer for breakfast kind of a place” and also says, “An espresso is nowhere to be seen” and “any time you begin to doubt the wonderfulness of San Francisco, really, all you gota do is come here.”

Bourdain’s final thoughts on San Francisco:

What do I really think about San Francisco? I know it to be a great food town, a great chef town, a place with a sense of humor for sure, as the locals endure my merciless poking fun at them with regularity. What do I really know of San Francisco? Well, you saw the show, you tell me. I can say with assurance only that I always, always have a very good time here.

There were other great places he visited and liked that I didn’t mention, including Sebo, the Ferry Building Farmers Market, Zam Zam Club, Oakland taco trucks, and Incanto. One thing in the episode I could have done without was the in-your-face product placement for the Ford Mustang zipping up and down the hills of San Francisco. Even though Bourdain acknowledges that San Francisco is “a tough town for a stick shift,” I could have done without the shots of a sporty domestic car darting around town. At least it wasn’t a wimpy hybrid! Perhaps that was intentionally ironic?

There are also a couple things I would have loved to see in the episode that were not featured. He did cover the fact that San Francisco likes to drink (a lot!), but it would have been cool if he took a deeper look into the huge mixology scene we have going on, and visited some of the well-known bars leading the way. Also, if it were filmed this year instead, they would have been forced to include a segment on the exploding street food scene. That would have been awesome to see the Creme Brulee Cart and Magic Curry Kart get some exposure on TV!

Overall I felt like it was a good episode that represented San Francisco pretty well. He visited different neighborhoods and ate different cuisines, which is exactly what San Francisco is all about. You can easily film an entire neighborhood in one episode of No Reservations, but they did a good job of taking a cross-sectional view of the city and presented it in a way that gave viewers a nice taste of what San Francisco has to offer. Locals know, however, that it barely scratched the surface and like Oscar said, “There’s more than enough because you realize there are layers that you’re still not gonna get to. You think you’ve figured everything out, you haven’t.”

If you watched the episode, what did you think? If you haven’t, set your TiVo to catch a replay!

Special thanks for John Birdsall from SF Weekly’s SFoodie blog for the invite to the viewing party! Photos courtesy of Travel Channel, L.L.C.

Also check out these other popular articles:
Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap
Painted Bird: A thrift and vintage clothing shop in the Mission
7×7 Magazine’s Big Eat SF: 2010 vs 2009
Shin Toe Bul Yi – Home-style Korean Food in Parkside
The Legend of the Bacon Hot Dog Cart
Street Food Redefined – The Creme Brulee Cart
New School Food Peddler – The Magic Curry Kart
Cha Cha Cha Tapas Restaurant and Bar in the Haight and Mission
Brenda’s French Soul Food Review; Best Southern Brunch in San Francisco
The Official Hoodscope List of Free San Francisco Museum Days
The Definitive Guide to Enjoying Oysters on the Cheap in San Francisco
The Ultimate SoMa Happy Hour Gameplan
How do you know you’re a San Francisco Hipster?



69 Responses to “Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap”

  1. 1 joe mendoza

    There was also some bizzare food eaten at a place called Incanto or Encanto.

  2. Yeah, Chris Cosentino of Incanto is very well known and respected for his use of offal in his cuisine. I’d love to eat there one day when I’m feeling adventurous!

  3. I loved the fact that he showed some of the street kids up on Haight Street. Now that’s San Francisco reality right there!!

  4. Kathleen – Definitely! I thought that was awesome they showed them, you don’t get much more San Francisco than that. Too bad the Tenderloin crackheads didn’t get some airtime. lol!

  5. 5 k2wally

    i dont think it was an implied product placement for ford, but more so an homage to the movie, Bullitt with Steve McQueen and the famous car chase in the green mustang. One of my favorites episode so far from the series. Go San Francisco!

  6. 6 Jacob

    Wow R&G Lounge? I remember when we used to make food runs there for appried financial.

  7. 7 rommel

    oh man he went to R&G haha. that place is bomb. i used to go there all the time as a kid.

  8. 8 B.obTuce

    Was kinda hoping he’d mention the Tamale Lady. For those who don’t know her, she put her kids thru college selling tamales at all the best Mission and Lower Haight bars. IMHO, she’s an SF icon (ie; highly driven, true individualist) like Emperor Norton, Shanghai Kelly, Raymond Chandler, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Herb Caen or Frank Chu.

    Bourdain’s show often hits upon the theme of street food being the way to really suss a place. If you watch the rockumentary below, you’ll see her passion for her food and her people, and you’ll see her people’s passion for her and her food.

    Some Links;
    Tamale Lady Bio – http://sf.wikispot.org/Tamale_Lady
    Tamale Lady’s B’day vid clip (30 sec.) – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4skFmsyY9Y
    Tamale Lady Rockumentary – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9ulLQRBOek
    Tamale Lady by Rube Waddell – http://www.stumbleaudio.com/play/rubewaddell3/1

  9. Hey Bob, great point on The Tamale Lady! Completely slipped my mind. She really is a local icon and deserves any and all recognition.

    Great links there! Everyone should check them out if you’re not familiar with The Tamale Lady.

  10. 10 mucho_comida

    When first watching the episode, it looked really good and we were excited to see our wonderful City showcased. In retrospect, after having the time to think about it, it sort of fell flat and really didn’t represent how locals really feel about the food & dining scene. With the exception of Sebo and Incanto, everything else shown was pretty much touristy or run-o-the mill (for SF).

    Leaving out the entire mixology scene…Fail. (Martinis???)

    I understand his anti-locavore ideals, but to leave this out when talking about SF dining is just stupid. I totally agree with his feelings on A. Waters and her ‘holier-than’ attitude, but she started something that obviously has caught throughout the country. To not pay some homage to the beginnings of that just didn’t feel right.

  11. my favorite quote from Anthony Bourdain blog post about SF

    “San Francisco, underneath a gossamer thin veneer of granola is in fact, a two-fisted drinking town… restaurants you could call “institutions” that defiantly refuse to suck, and in an ever tidier, cleaner, Disneyfied world–where even New York’s Times Square looks like a theme park, still, a delightfully nasty, dirty, beautiful, carnivorous, vice-filled town”.

    This is why I love San Francisco!

    Jeffrey

  12. I love Anthony Bourdain, he is totally HOT! Does anyone know the name of the Taco Truck he went to in Oakland on Imperial Blvd? I have got to try some of those home made tortillas.

  13. 13 Edwin

    Re: Amy…I think it is called “Taqueria La Cumbre” but I couldn’t really read it. Who knows the name of the sushi joint…Sushi Sabot? Sushi Sable? couldnt catch it and haven’t done any real research yet. Cheers all from Idaho from a Cal grad who met his wife at Berkeley REI and returning for 12th anniversary trying to a spectacular one day whirlwind culinary especial day!

  14. 14 Edwin

    Oh and re: Tamale Lady
    THat woman saved my life more times at Zeitgeist than any of my friends!

  15. 15 Gene

    Hi Edwin! Thanks for checking out my blog! That sushi place is Sebo, in Hayes Valley. AMAZING place, definitely make it a stop. Make sure you get the omakase menu and leave it up to the chefs. Very cool guys there. Where else are you planning on going?

  16. 16 Dave on 30th

    If you don’t get why he was ripping around town in a Mustang, please go watch the movie Bullitt.

  17. 17 Kimboi

    The Mustang footage was a waste, but at least it had a tiny bit of cool as a reference to a well-known part of SF’s image (the car chases over hill and dale–as Dave notes above). But the Tecate product placement was just too too lame and in-your-face, and the fuzzing out of competing products in the store’s cooler was really idiotic. Next: Corvettes pixellated out of shots.

    Some of Tony’s material was just too trite for words, all the “San Francisco is the mountaintop of crunchy” (or however he put it). Tony undercut his cred as a no-bullshit guy with a brain when he put that crap in the script. I find it hard to accept that he really thinks that.

    OK, Salt-and-pepper crab is a tasty dish, but not nearly as tasty as just plain ol’ boiled/steamed Dungeness crab.

  18. 18 Kimboi

    A-and another aspect of the script that was jiver-than-jive: “North Beach is SF’s seedy underbelly.” Come on! Tony knows from personal experience that there are places like the Tenderloin and Sixth St. and ought to be able to tell that Broadway is a very different scene. Again, it undercuts his cred.

  19. where is Sushi Sable located – can’t find it anywhere – is it out of business?

  20. 20 motomomx3

    I’m glad Travel Channel reran this episode, it’s one of my favorites next to his trips to Italy. An earlier post above said that the sushi restaurant was Sabo. I looked it up at http://www.sebosf.com and the photo looks the same as the restaurant in the episode. I’m dying to go try it but don’t get across the Bay as often as I would like…maybe this is some tasty motivation…?

  21. 21 Greg Renstrom

    It was my favorite Show it had tremendous variety, fun, and I was swept up into the experience. The content was favorable too considering that Tony Was perhaps Very Drunk during the Prime rib and Gods knows how many Martinees he had! He was serley his words and the poet guy was gone talking about the deep meaning of potery it ROCKED~

  22. 22 Suzanne

    Anthony, Very much enjoy you. You are coming to Santa Rosa with Eric Ripert. You do skewer Guy Fieri, and rightfully so. Guy is a wonderful contributer to the community also. Please work that in. Thanks, Suzanne

  23. 23 nellie

    I just saw Oscar on the street today. I shouted out his name and he looked back and saw me with a confused look like ‘I don’t know her. Why is this Asian girl shouting my name?’ So I caught up to him and told him I saw him on Anthony Bourdain’s show and that I liked his quote on how SF is like a beautiful and mysterious woman. He blushed and said it was the beer talking, lol. He seems like a really nice guy!

  24. 24 ken harper

    As Dave noted, the Mustang was a not-so-subtle reference to the iconic Steve McQueen role as SFPD Lt. Bullitt. But they really should have had a Dodge Charger chasing Anthony around town.

  25. 25 ken harper

    On our last trip to The City we went to R&G because of the segment. And yes, we had the salt & pepper crab with a lichee martini.

  26. Nice post. I learn something totally new and
    challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be interesting to read through content
    from other writers and use something from their web sites.

  27. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am having difficulties with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I can’t join it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  28. That was both attention-grabbing likewise as insightful!
    Thank you for sharing your views with us.

  29. Hey. I noticed your blog title, “Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap | Hoodscope” does not really reflect the content of your
    web-site. When creating your blog title, do you believe it’s best to write it for Website positioning or for your visitors? This is something I’ve been struggling with
    because I want good search rankings but at the same time I want
    the best quality for my visitors.

  30. Howdy, i ‘m a blogger same as you, and was curious if you ever before experimented with those addthis.com like this buttons and if they are any good. I realized they do load a lot of code, so now i’m
    doubtful if its really worth adding it, due the massive increase of KB of the overall filesize.

    Have you ever give it a shot? I am excited to hear what other people say about that?
    Please sent me a message to ruebenforbes@yahoo.
    de if you have any experience with those addons. Thx .. btw, luv the blog ever since!

  31. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit
    my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

  32. I do not even understand how I stopped up here, but I believed this put up was good.

    I don’t recognise who you’re however definitely you are going to a famous blogger should you
    aren’t already. Cheers!

  33. Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search
    Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.

    If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  34. I run a grilling blog where I share my tasty recipes
    and secrets that I learn from my years of cooking
    food. I try really tough to enhance my blog no less than
    three times each week. I’ve had the blog for around ninety days, which I suppose is a pretty good amount of time. Still, my blog doesn’t get lots of visits .
    When I look for my posts on Google, it is certainly hard
    for me to discover them. I found this site on the 1st page of DuckDuckGo while i searched for Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap | Hoodscope, therefore i believe you must be a very skilled,
    care to share some information with me?

  35. Gday admin, I just wanted to give you a quick heads up that your
    URL: https://hoodscope.wordpress.com/2009/08/11/anthony-bourdains-no-reservations-in-san-francisco-episode-recap/ is being flagged as a possibly malicious web site
    in my browser opera. I would highly recommend having
    someone look into it. You can lose a lot of
    guests due to this problem. Best of Luck.

  36. Hiya, i am a blogger same as you, and was wondering if you ever tried those addthis.
    com social bookmarking buttons and if they are any good. I recognized they will load quite a
    pile of code, so now i’m not sure if its really worth adding them, due the massive raise of KB of the total filesize. Have you ever give it a shot? I am excited to hear what other bloggers say about that? If you have some spare time sent me a message to octavia_free@live.de if you have any experience with those add-ons. Thx .. btw, luv your blog since months!

  37. 37 Nola

    I am starting up a online blog directory and was wanting to know if I can submit your blog?

    I’m hoping to mature my directory little by little by hand so that it retains top quality. I will make sure and put your website in the proper category and I’ll also
    use, “Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap | Hoodscope” as your anchor text.
    Please make sure to let me know if this is ok with you by e-mailing me at: nola-hatton@yahoo.
    com. Bless you

  38. 38 Royal

    My wife and I utterly love your article and find a lot of
    your post’s to be precisely what I’m browsing for.
    Does one offer guest authors to write content available
    for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a article or elaborating on some of the topics you write in relation to here. Once again, exceptional blog!

  39. Heya. I’m sorry to hassle you but I happened to run across your blog site and noticed you happen to be using the exact same theme as me. The only issue is on my website, I’m
    struggling to get the design and style looking like yours.
    Would you mind e-mailing me at: louannecordova@gawab.
    com so I can get this figured out. By the way I have bookmarked your internet site: http://hoodscope.
    wordpress.com/2009/08/11/anthony-bourdains-no-reservations-in-san-francisco-episode-recap/ and will be
    visiting often. Thankyou!

  40. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook
    group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  41. Heya! I’m hoping you possibly can answer my question. I’m interested in a high
    grade WP theme, but I have no idea how to tell if the one I select
    is going to be suitable for mobile phones. What are some tips you can give
    me in regards to what to look for with regards to colors and background and issues like that?
    I usually evaluate websites via my mobile, and I’m going to bet that quite a few folks are just like me in that way. Oops, i went a bit off topic, sorry. Appreciated the article thou.

  42. Howdy! I hope you don’t mind but I decided to publish your web site: https://hoodscope.wordpress.com/2009/08/11/anthony-bourdains-no-reservations-in-san-francisco-episode-recap/ to my on-line directory website. I used, “Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap | Hoodscope” as your blog title. I hope this is acceptable with you. If perhaps you’d like me to change the title or remove it
    entirely, e-mail me at modestomarquardt@gmx.
    de. Many thanks.

  43. That’s somewhat Offtopic, but i thought you could give me some advice. On the subject of registering and hosting a domain name, I’m not sure what
    I must do. A. Do I Need To register and host at the same place?
    Or B. Should I register my domain name with one company and host it with another?
    I would want to do A, but therein lies my difficulty.
    I want to register my domain name with NameCheap, since I like
    their fees. Nonetheless, I’d rather not host my site using them. What would be your decision?

  44. Howdy! My name is Anton and I really just wanted to
    say your site is great! It really is funny due to the fact I use to have
    a web site that nearly had an identical web address: http:
    //hoodscope.wordpress.com/2009/08/11/anthony-bourdains-no-reservations-in-san-francisco-episode-recap/ mine was only a few letters different.
    In any case, I’m a big fan of your blog website and if you at any time would like a guest post please email me personally at: anton-goldberg@gawab.com. I take pleasure in writing!

  45. Greetings! I was curious to know if setting up a blog website such your own:
    https://hoodscope.wordpress.com/2009/08/11/anthony-bourdains-no-reservations-in-san-francisco-episode-recap/ is challenging to do for unskilled
    people? I’ve been hoping to set up my own website for a while now but have been turned off because I’ve always assumed it required tons of
    work. What do you think? Thanks

  46. Hey there. I was contemplating adding a link back to your blog
    since both of our websites are primarily based around the same subject.
    Would you prefer I link to you using your website address: http://hoodscope.
    wordpress.com/2009/08/11/anthony-bourdains-no-reservations-in-san-francisco-episode-recap/ or website title: Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations
    in San Francisco Episode Recap | Hoodscope.
    Be sure to let me know at your earliest convenience.
    Kudos

  47. naturally like your web site however you need to check the
    spelling on several of your posts. Several
    of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very bothersome to tell
    the truth nevertheless I will surely come back again.

  48. My brother recommended I would possibly like this website. He was once totally right. This submit actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  49. I every time used to read post in news papers but now as I am a user of net thus from
    now I am using net for content, thanks to web.

  50. Hello, its nice post about media print, we all be familiar with media is a
    enormous source of data.

  51. Hola! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  52. I blog quite often and I really thank you for your content.
    This article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your website and keep checking for new information about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  53. If you get the loan you choose, you could secure a loan to finance debt, even if you don’t think that you are offered secured consolidate loans.

  54. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your blogposts as long
    as I provide credit and sources returning to your site: http://hoodscope.
    wordpress.com/2009/08/11/anthony-bourdains-no-reservations-in-san-francisco-episode-recap/.
    I’m going to aslo be certain to give you the proper anchortext hyperlink using your website title: Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations in San Francisco Episode Recap | Hoodscope. Be sure to let me know if this is acceptable with you. Thanks

  55. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. However just imagine if
    you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this website could certainly be one of the most beneficial in its field.

    Good blog!

  56. I got this website from my buddy who shared with me about
    this website and at the moment this time I am visiting this web page and
    reading very informative posts at this time.

  57. Is this show still running? Where can I find the old episodes of this show?

    Thanks,
    Dhruv.

  58. Hi there Dear, are you actually visiting this site
    daily, if so afterward you will absolutely take fastidious know-how.

  59. I’m curious to find out what blog system you are working with?
    I’m experiencing some small security issues with my latest website
    and I’d like to find something more risk-free.
    Do you have any solutions?

  60. It also offers improved fuel economy and would be funny
    car shop tampa if your dog actually sits in the front or the back.
    In order to make the driver car shop tampa
    feel like he is sitting in a tree K-I-S-S-I-N-G.

  61. Instead we suffer from it, by storing too much fat and
    rarely, if ever, burning it. Learning you have celiac disease can be very overwhelming, particularly as the ‘cure’
    is not one or two pills, but a very strict gluten-free diet.
    Xanthan gum is currently used to international thickening, suspension, emulsion, stable in in one body.

  62. Hi there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re
    using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this
    blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider
    at a reasonable price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  63. Every weekend i used to go to see this web site, for
    the reason that i want enjoyment, for the reason that this this
    website conations in fact nice funny data too.

  64. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This post posted at this site is really nice.

  65. Nice answers in return of this query with genuine arguments and describing
    everything regarding that.

  66. 66 bob

    Sofa King Great!!!


  1. 1 lose weight
  2. 2 bananas health benefits
  3. 3 Anthony Bourdain – No Reservations San Francisco | mdoeff.com

Leave a comment