Bi-Rite Creamery Soft Serve Ice Cream – Tastes expensive, because it is

29Mar10
Bi-Rite Creamery Soft Serve Ice Cream Curbside Window

Bi-Rite's soft serve window is right next door to their regular entrance

I love Bi-Rite, almost as much as I love Mitchell’s Ice Cream and just a tad bit more than Humphry Slocombe. Roasted banana and salted caramel give my sweet tooth a damn near orgasm every time. I also love soft serve ice cream, there’s something about it that evokes childhood memories of ordering soft serve ice cream from Fosters Freeze after church every Sunday in San Jose. When I heard that Bi-Rite was opening up a dedicated curbside soft serve window, my inner child jumped for joy.

When I finally arrived at the window for the first time, however, my mood went from glee to WTFuckery. $3.50 for a freakin’ soft serve cone? Okay yes, as expected from any San Francisco establishment, you’re getting high quality, locally sourced, organic ingredients. Bi-Rite uses organic dairy from the Straus Family Creamery, located out in the beautiful Tomales Bay (across from Point Reyes National Seashore). Side note: their milk alone is worth writing about, but I’ll leave that for another day. If you’re really curious, get some at Anthony’s Cookies with a dozen cookies and cream cookies.

Back to the soft serve. I tried the chocolate and vanilla swirl, and it was incredibly good, about as good as soft serve ice cream can get. It has a very “natural” taste to it, not too sweet or creamy, just right. The chocolate was subtle, due in part to the contrasting vanilla flavor, but I prefer it that way since I’m not a fan of intense chocolate flavor. The consistency is light, and it began to melt fairly quickly in the moderately (for San Francisco) warm weather. It’s definitely many steps above your standard soft serve ice cream dispensers that you often come across at buffets, and it’s also better than McDonald’s (as it should be).

Bi-Rite Creamery chocolate vanilla swirl soft serve cone

Tasty soft serve ice cream, but not worth $3.50

I’d still rather have McDonald’s soft serve ice cream, though, at a fraction of the price. $3.50 is a ridiculous price to pay for something that should cost a dollar. I understand that it uses premium ingredients, and you definitely taste the difference, but if you add a topping or two, you’ll easily top the $5.00 price point. Ridiculous! If  I’m expected to pay $3.50 and upwards of $5.00 for a simple soft serve ice cream cone, I’d rather just walk next door and get some real Bi-Rite Creamery ice cream! Or a burrito!

You REALLY have to be in the mood for soft serve ice cream to justify paying $3.50 for a cone, but if you are, then at least you’re getting a damn good one.

Bi-Rite Creamery
3692 18th St
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 626-5600
http://www.biritecreamery.com

Also check out:
Anthony’s Cookies in the Mission Serves Up the Goods; Cookies and Cream Our Favorite
Mitchell’s Ice Cream: A San Francisco favorite since 1953
Street Food Redefined – The Creme Brulee Cart
Gelateria Naia in the Castro; All Natural Gelato
Hot Cookie in the Castro
Sweet Beat: Italian Gelato (in Some Very Un-Italian Flavors) at Marco Polo
Golden Island Cafe: Hong Kong-Style Sago Sweets in the Outer Sunset

18 Responses to “Bi-Rite Creamery Soft Serve Ice Cream – Tastes expensive, because it is”

  1. 1 Jacob A.

    Fenton’s Black and Tan…East Bay goodness

  2. 2 AB

    I was thinking the same thing about buying a McDezzys soft serve for $1. I cant believe they charge that price.. HOW DO YOU SLEEP AT NIGHT?. charge 2 bucks you scammers.

  3. 3 Gene

    @AB- I totally agree! If I only had to spend $2-2.50 for that soft serve, I would. Many times! The $3.50 price point ensures that this was the first and last time I ever walk up to that window.

  4. 4 chad

    It is totally unreasonable to compare bi-rite’s price for soft serve to Mcdonald’s. I’m certain that it costs them more than a dollar to make the stuff.

  5. Good way of explaining, and good article to obtain facts on the topic of my presentation subject matter, which i am
    going to convey in institution of higher education.

  6. I savor, cause I found exactly what I used to be taking a look for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.
    Bye

  7. I think that everything composed made a lot of sense.
    However, what about this? suppose you were to create a awesome headline?
    I ain’t saying your content is not good., but suppose you added
    a title to maybe grab a person’s attention? I mean Bi-Rite Creamery Soft Serve Ice Cream – Tastes expensive, because it
    is | Hoodscope is a little plain. You might peek at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create
    article headlines to get people to open the links.
    You might add a video or a picture or two to grab people interested about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it would bring your posts a little bit more
    interesting.


  1. 1 Soft Serve Machine - Cuisinart Soft Serve Machine
  2. 2 Soft Serve Machine - Is soft serve Ice cream a Solid or a Liquid?
  3. 3 Soft Serve Machine - Is soft serve ice cream okay while pregnant?
  4. 4 Soft Serve Machine - Soft serve frozen yogurt machines for under $100?
  5. 5 Soft Serve Machine - Why can't you buy soft-serve ice cream at the grocery store?
  6. 6 Soft Serve Machine - Does any know who is selling a nostalgia soft serve ice cream maker?
  7. 7 Soft Serve Machine - Cruisinart soft serve ice cream and yogurt maker ?
  8. 8 Soft Serve Machine - where can i park my soft serve ice cream tuck overnight in chicago?
  9. 9 Soft Serve Machine - McDonald's soft serve ice cream recipe?
  10. 10 Soft Serve Machine - HC Duke & Son 957R-132 Soft Serve Ice Cream Machine
  11. 11 Soft Serve Machine - How Much is an ice cream machine?

Leave a Reply

