Sloshball in Golden Gate Park; Recap and Photos

21Apr09

What do you get when you combine drinking with a childhood game? A damn good time!

This weekend, a group of Yelpers got together and organized a game of Sloshball in Golden Gate Park. For the uninitiated, Sloshball is basically kickball with booze. It was my first time playing this wonderful game, and my only regret is not playing it earlier. It was a sunny day at Speedway Meadow in Golden Gate Park, and I was joined by fellow blogger, Rey. We located the group of Sloshball players, which were given away by the two kegs of beer and Transformers kickball.

I was on the green team, Rey was on the red. It was at this moment that whatever friendship we had before would now cease to exist.

Pre-game photo; nobody wasted

Pre-game photo; nobody wasted

It was a battle for the ages. Balls were flying, trash was talked, and cups of beer were spilled all over the field. Before we started I thought, “I can’t possibly get that drunk playing this game, I only need to down my beer every time I get to 2nd base.” I usually hate being wrong but in this case I was glad to be proven otherwise. Midway through the game I began to loathe 2nd base as my vision got more blurred by the inning. I secretly wished the keg would just magically disappear before reaching 2nd.

Rey blasting one deep into foul territory

Rey blasting one deep into foul territory

Me blasting one deep into outer space

Me blasting one deep into outer space

Jamming to second base...

Jamming to second base...

...and regretting my arrival. Rey about to throw down a challenge.

...and regretting my arrival. Rey about to throw down a challenge.

Whenever there were discrepancies in officiating, players were allowed to challenge said call and have a chug off. Never one to shy away from a challenge, especially a drinking challenge, I was asked to step up and challenge not once, but twice. As fate would have it, both times I went head to head with the same person. For those that know me outside this blog, I drink like a fish and make no apologies about it. If there were a Professional Beer Drinking League, I would probably be a lottery pick in the draft. The Jordan of beer drinking, so to speak. I am also known for my modesty.

However, on this fateful Saturday afternoon, my ego was put in check as I lost twice to the same girl, both times by nary a split second. Yes I said girl. Everyone knows how much I absolutely hate to lose at anything, but this time I lost fair and square to a very worthy adversary. She may have won the battle, but my green team won the war and pulled off the come-from-behind victory in a performance not seen since Jordan took the court wearing red and black. Today Jordan was on the field sporting not red and black, but holding a green cup. 

She had the powerstance and a cigarette, to boot. I didn't have a chance.

She had the powerstance and a cigarette, to boot. I didn't have a chance.

Red team celebrating the moral victory

Red team celebrating the moral victory

One of many socials at 2nd base

One of many socials at 2nd base

Good game!

Good game!

Post-game shot; nobody sober

Post-game photo; nobody sober

Thanks for Luis for hosting a great event! And thanks Kristina for sharing the photos!

One Response to “Sloshball in Golden Gate Park; Recap and Photos”

  1. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this
    website. I really hope to view the same high-grade content by you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities
    has inspired me to get my own website now 😉


Leave a Reply

