The Front Porch in the Mission

03Mar09

Being born and raised in the South, I know a thing or two about fried chicken. My tastebuds are highly critical of anything that doesn’t come out of mama’s kitchen, and I for sure would not expect some hotshot restaurant from San Francisco (of all places) to impress. Well, The Front Porch does just that and it may be the best fried chicken in this city.

That’s what I would say if I really was from the South and actually knew what real fried chicken is supposed to taste like.

Delicious, fried goodness

Delicious, fried goodness

Well, I am Bay Area born and raised, and the extent of my fried chicken expertise pretty much ends with KFC’s Original or Crispy. What I do know, is that the fried chicken served in a popcorn bucket (popcorn included) from The Front Porch is some of the best I’ve ever had. I’m very easy to please, but fried chicken must possess two distinct qualities: crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside. Anything else is just a bonus. The Front Porch does both incredibly well. The skin is perfectly seasoned and crispy, and the meat is mouth wateringly juicy and flavorful. 

This gives a whole new meaning to "popcorn chicken"

This gives a whole new meaning to "popcorn chicken"

I went with a group of friends, and we shared a couple buckets of chicken with mashed potatoes, collard greens, and fried yucca with aioli, which were all very good as well. We washed it down with some Rose sangria, which is made by the glass per order. Though very refreshing and fruity, I regretted not ordering an ice cold beer instead to go with my fried chicken. 

The interior is very dark, with dim lighting at each table. They have a bar, though they only serve beer and wine. They have outdoor seating, rocking chairs, and a friendly staff that brings some southern hospitality charm to the atmosphere. The restaurant is actually the bottom floor of an old victorian home, and the entrance is what would be…wait for it…the front porch of the home. 

Make reservations, because for some reason The Front Porch seems to be the new cool spot to eat, and it’s busy every night. It’s pretty loud inside, but it’s because everyone there is having a good time and enjoying good company and good food. As a bonus, after you finish your meal, you can walk down the street to Mitchell’s Ice Cream!

The Front Porch
29th Street (between Mission and San Jose)
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 695-7800
http://www.thefrontporchsf.com/main.html 

Also check out:
Double Dutch Bar in the Mission  
The Legend of the Bacon Hot Dog Cart  
Street Food Redefined – The Creme Brulee Cart 
New School Food Peddler – The Magic Curry Kart 

Lolo Tapas and Wine Bar

2 Responses to “The Front Porch in the Mission”

  1. Nice review. I love the Front Porch–it’s one my favorite spots in the city.

  2. 2 genejo

    Thanks! I love it too, but I’m really bummed they no longer have the spicy crab and grits! It made the 7×7 100 Things to Try Before You Die list, and now I can never really complete it!


Leave a Reply

