The Legend of the Bacon Hot Dog Cart

07Apr09

As I stumble out of another bar after having a few too many drinks, the only thing on my mind is, “Where the fuck am I, and how am I getting home?” The next thing I’m thinking is, “Jesus Christ I am so fucked up!” Once I get that out of my system I immediately think of where to get some cheap, greasy, artery-clogging, heart attack-inducing, GRUB. I roam the streets, listening for the sizzle and smell of bacon, praying to the late-night binge drinking Gods that they will lead me to the promised land.

Alas, over yonder I see a group of people standing on a corner. My eyes and ears focus on the scene. Sizzle. I get a hard on and make my way towards the corner as if there were a pot of gold there for the taking, except this is better. Basking in all it’s glory is quite possibly one of the greatest sights to behold when you’re piss drunk, the elusive Bacon Hot Dog Cart.

I say elusive because they only come out late at night to catch the drunken horde of the inebriated and hungry, and they do not have a set location. On any given night they can be on any street corner, ready to satisfy the masses, but this only adds to their allure and appeal. 

There are usually multiple carts around the city, in most of the popular partying neighborhoods such as SoMa, but you will almost certainly find one in the Mission. I’ve caught them all over the Mission on both Mission and Valencia, between 16th and 24th. If you find yourself in the Mission late at night, just ask around if anyone has seem them and follow your eyes and ears. 

This is all you really need to know:

  • Street food
  • Meat wrapped in meat 
  • Fast
  • Delicious
  • Unhealthy
  • Cheap
  • Perfect

These guys (and gals!) don’t fuck around. You have a cart with a flat grilling surface and they bang these out like nobody’s business. The formula is pretty simple: you take a hot dog, wrap it in bacon, grill it with some onions and jalapenos, and slap it with ketchup, mustard, and mayonaise. Charge $3 and serve the next one.

I buy two every time and make no apologies. See:

Sometimes I wonder if these would be just as good if I had one while sober. Well, I’ve never seen them around during the daytime so I guess I’ll never know. But, I honestly cant imagine these NOT being good. You have meat wrapped in bacon, for Christ’s sake.

If you want to see it in action, check out this video clip. Warning: may induce culinary equivalent of a boner. Can you say multitasker!?

They say even a blind pig can find the occassional truffle, and I know from personal experience that even a drunken bastard can find the Bacon Hot Dog Cart with a little luck.

Have you experienced the magic of the legendary Bacon Hot Dog Cart?

Thanks for the photos, BJ! 

Also check out: 
New School Food Peddler – The Magic Curry Kart  
Street Food Redefined – The Creme Brulee Cart 
Curry Without Worry in Civic Center



17 Responses to “The Legend of the Bacon Hot Dog Cart”

  1. 1 Nick Arcelona

    This shit is amazing……

  2. Amazing is an understatement!

  3. I happen to think that the bacon-wrapped hot dog (and let’s not forget the big squirt of mayonnaise and lots of grilled onions on top) is one of the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth.

  4. 4 rhilario

    Fuck… I remember stumbling out of some Silverlake hipster bar in LA and having one of these for the first time. I probably spent $15 for 3. They were that damn good! Haven’t had one up he in SF though. I will most definitely be hunting for a bacon dog. Visuvio’s or Centerfolds first though…

    -Ray
    logicvigilante.wordpress.com

    P.S.

    The mayonnaise on the grilled onions on top is such a flawless combination.

  5. 5 LYSS

    B-DUB-H-D!! not only is that (jenn and) my fave acronym, they’re freakin deeelicious!!

  6. 6 jacqueline

    the best when youre faded urgh yum!

  7. 7 starphishprime

    Those culinary masterpieces trace their roots back to Sonora Mexico. You can find them all over Tucson, and yes “sonoran dogs” are just as good sober. The best come on a homemade Mexican sweetroll. I might have to go get one right now ….. mmm mmm mmmm

  8. haha you look like you’re drooling

  9. these joints are zee BAHMB!!! i wanna buy a bunch of them for baon.

  10. look out for the grimey vegan around the mission district!

  11. 11 Mork

    You need to come to the Toy district in Downtown LA on a saturday. THEY ARE EVERYWHERE. I kid you not, going down the street I found 3. ON THE SAME SIDE OF THE STREET. Not only that but theres stands that serve other great food like Tacos, burritos and burgers. Really badass place to go if you’re starving and STREET FOOD.

  12. 12 Mork

    http://www.downtownlawalks.com/?f=Toy_District

    More info on the Toy district if you’re interested, and how can you not be?

  13. It’s remarkable to visit this website and reading the views of all mates regarding this paragraph, while I am also eager of getting experience.

  14. Wow, this post is good, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, therefore I am going to
    inform her.

  15. Valuable info. Fortunate me I discovered your site by chance,
    and I am surprised why this accident did not came about in advance!
    I bookmarked it.


  1. 1 San Francisco Food Carts, Twitter & TipTop « TipTop Technologies
  2. 2 » Curbside Cuisine Chef2Chef Community Blog: Featured Chef and Food Blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

